top of page

Giving to the needy

I want to Inspire those in need around me, I want people to look at me and say “Because of you I didn’t give up”. If there is no outflow of blessings from our hearts to others, how then shall we in turn inherit a blessing? I strongly believe when you give, you get back in return. A few years back I was walking down the street and saw a person in need holding up a small cardboard sign asking for money, I thought to myself I want to help this person, but I started thinking what if their intentions are bad? If I give this person money, will they use it for what they need? There are many people in need in every community throughout the U.S. The majority of these people are given the help they need. They are provided food, clothing and sometimes shelter or medical help. With the extra money in my pocket I could give that erson in need some spare change, however I do not know what that person will use that money for. I know as well as anyone that giving money to the homeless is a generous and thoughtful act, but I also know its not the right thing to do. When you are giving money to the homeless there are definitely advantages. Not only will you feel good about yourself, but the person in need you are giving the money to will have a chance to communicate with you. There are so many people in need on the streets that get very little to no communication with anyone. When you give them money its a great chance for them to interact with you and be social as well as meet new people, which is very important when you are living on the streets or without a job. Another good thing about giving money to those in need is that they are able to use the money that you have given them and buy the things that they need. If they are hungry and need some food for the day then they are able purchase food on their own when they decide. Another advantage of giving money to the homeless is the fact that it will boost them up mentally. People who are struggling at being successful in life usually enjoy when they are given help and a lot of people general feel inspired and motivated when they are given something that makes their day better. But there are also plenty of disadvantages of giving money to the homeless. First off, a lot of people in need are in need for various reasons and some of these people are practicing bad habits while others in need may actually need the help and its hard to distinguish between the ones practicing bad habits and the ones who really need help. They all need help but for people in need its hard to determine just what kind of help they really need. There are often many people that you will come across on the streets that are given things so often that they forget to be thankful, use manners, or just appreciate what you or other people have or are doing for them. Another big reason why I believe giving money to homeless people is a negative thing, is because there are a few homeless people out there who at times feel like they don’t need to work for themselves. They assume that since they are given everything they need freely and since they don’t have to have a job in order to eat, drink, buy clothing, and stay in a shelter, why should they waste their time with a job when there would be no difference in how their needs are being met at the end of the day. Not all people are like this, some are mentally ill while others are down on their luck, jobless, trying to support a family or just in need for various other reasons. The last and most important reason that giving money to homeless people is an issue is the fact that money is open, you can buy anything with money. So when you might be giving a person on the streets some money for food or clothing, they might have the intention of buying drugs, cigarettes, or alcohol for that day. I try to not ask questions or judge those in need. I simply find better ways to help them, get them the help they need and support them without putting pressure on them to change instead of just handing them money. I think that it’s easy to give to those in need without giving them money. Its all in how you go about it. I find that a warm meal and a care package at times can be the biggest blessing to someone in need while at other times, new clothes, shoes or even small house hold goods, cup of coffee or just a good conversation and being a friend to them can go a very long way. Remember life is short and there is always someone who has it worse then you, you can not get poor by giving so pay it forward and give back when you are afforded the opportunity. Tomorrow I am heading down to my community space to clear it out and reorganize it and then pass out care packages, clothing and some toys to those in need in and around my community space area. I hope you all have had a wonderful weekend. Happy Aloha Sunday God Bless Peace Love and Happiness and always Pay it forward.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page